Christmas means to me…

Christmas isn’t going to be that great for my kids this year. I’m flat broke and they will be getting one gift each. Leila (4 months old now) is too little to notice or care. I’m trying to explain to Baylie (almost 10 years old)(like I do every stinkin’ year) that Christmas isn’t about gifts. It’s about JESUS and FAMILY. We should enjoy the time we have with eachother. We should remember the “Christ” in “Christmas.” Every Christmas and Easter I have this discussion with her and I swear it goes in one ear and out the other and she forgets again. Christmas isn’t about Santa or gifts and Easter isn’t about a stupid bunny and eggs. UGH! I hate hate hate to disappoint my kids and neices and nephews because I can’t spend for them like I normally do. No matter how much you try to explain the REAL reason for the season, they think you’re just being cheap.
When did Christmas stop being about Jesus and love and start being about gifts? It makes me want to throw away the tree and bows and wreaths and say “Forget it!!!! If we can’t celebrate the birth of Jesus properly then we aren’t doing the rest of it either!!”

I want my kids to understand the REAL reason for the season. I want them to enjoy the lights and trees and pretty things without forgetting about Jesus. I want them to be excited about Christmas itself, not just about gifts. But how can I get this across to them when we live in a society that focuses on the material things? Its so commercialized that the rest of it is totally lost…

*sigh*

I’m just venting. If you have any ideas to help me get the point across to Baylie and help her understand, let me know. She’s not being a brat about it at all. Bless her heart she’s the sweetest kid and doesn’t complain. I just feel the need to really emphasize it to her.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. K. Trainor
    Dec 03, 2008 @ 23:38:19

    It is hard with the TV pounding commercials at them every 5 minutes for the newest handy dandy thing. It sounds like you’re on the right path, m’dear! 🙂

    Let Baylie join in a local group (church? 4H?)that goes caroling.

    Have Bob watch the baby, and take Baylie with you to go shovel an elderly person’s driveway. Accept no cash, –shoot–try to do it in secret if you can.

    Let Baylie ‘catch’ you dropping a few coins in the charity bins. Explain to her that no matter how tough things are for you guys, some kids have no homes to keep warm in, or know where their next meal will come from. Besides, if everyone dropped in a quarter, can you IMAGINE how much cash they’d collect?

    Donate some household things she’s outgrown, or that you don’t use to the nearest women’s shelter.

    As you said, Christmas is a celebration of Christ’s birth, not a celebration of the god of MasterCard. There are lots of things you can do to show exactly that–without spending great wads of cash.

    Good luck to you, hon!

  2. amcgrady
    Dec 03, 2008 @ 23:41:22

    Those are great ideas, thanks alot! No shovelling to be done down here in hickville though lol. Snow? What’s that?

Leave a Reply

