If I had a million dollars

Remember that song by the BareNaked Ladies?  Just a side note here:  don’t go Google “Bare Naked Ladies Million Dollars.”  Just trust me on this one lol.  Anyhoo… in the song (which is a catchy little toon, lemmetellya) he sings about all the things he would do/buy if he had a million dollars.  I think we could all come up with a list of things we would purchase or pay off if we won the lottery or were given a cool mil.  So here’s my challenge:  What would you do with a million dollars if you couldn’t spend ONE RED DIME on yourself, your bills, your kiddos, or family?  The money must be given away, used for good causes, or something else really creative.  And don’t spend it all in one place.  Come on, lets here it!

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lakenshift
    Jan 15, 2009 @ 23:48:52

    One Million dollars?? I would divide two large portions, say $300,000 each and give them to two charities I believe in, To Write Love On Her Arms(raising awareness locally and internationally about depression, suicide, addictions, etc.) and to Charity:Water (bringing clean water to third world Ethiopia, known for The September Project). $200,000 would be used for multiple scholarships for students who can’t afford to go to college or a trade school. The last $200,000 would be used for multiple scholarships to start up Charity Organizations focused on community wellness (new spas don’t count).

  2. K. Trainor
    Jan 15, 2009 @ 23:50:52

    No family, eh? Not even extended family? Okeydoke. Then I’d probably split it 3 ways.

    1/3 to a fund for donations to local (unrelated!)families. There would be no application process, just a quiet word of mouth thing. Donations would be made anonymously so the family would never feel indebted by the gift.

    1/3 to the Now I Lay Me Down To Sleep Foundation. They arrange for professional photographers to take free pictures for families with high risk and stillborn children. These folks will even come to a hospital room in the middle of the night just to take pictures. What a gift for the parents. My sister was blessed by their help and they were amazing when her son passed away. We have beautiful photos to remember him by.

    1/3 would be used to buy acreage for and fund a cemetery. The cemetery wouldn’t take ‘regular’ burials, it would be meant for free burials for children. I’d also make spaces available at cost (to cover staff and earthmoving equipment) for their parents if they wish to be laid to rest by their child someday. The loss of a child is such a devastating time for people, I just think it would be a neat thing to do if I could afford to.

  3. Kjay
    Jan 16, 2009 @ 08:04:12

    This one is easy. I would donate every penny to St. Jude’s childrens Hospital. I had a cousin who spent the last months of her life there along with her parnets and they never had to think about the cost because there is no cost beyond what the insurance will pay for. All the other expenses are handled with funds donated to the hospital. I cannot say enough for what they did to give comfort and compassion to my extended family in their time of need and still continue to do today for many others.

  4. Laura (Frenchie)
    Jan 16, 2009 @ 09:24:57

    Hey girl! I’m getting ready for bed here but I do have one thing in mind at this moment for my million dollars.

    I would build a skateboard park in my area!! The kids aren’t allowed to skateboard on our sidewalk but yet there is no place for them to do it. It’s been thrown around for quite some time that we will be getting one but has yet to happen. So there goes some of my million…Oh and I’d make sure it was a big HUGE ass indoor one w/ other accomadations to go w/!!!

    I’ll bb w/ more when I have more time and can think of more……

    Great blogs so far hon!

  5. Laura (Frenchie)
    Jan 16, 2009 @ 09:26:38

    Did ya get all those ‘more’s’? LMAO!!

  6. Kimberkost
    Jan 16, 2009 @ 09:47:08

    Lemme see…….. I would probably donate 1/2 to the American Cancer Association, because I’ve had many family members (including my dad) die of cancer.

    The other half, I would donate to St. Jude because they do wonderful things for children and my life is my children!

  7. Kimberkost
    Jan 16, 2009 @ 09:47:53

    PS. Love your blogs hon!!!!!

  8. Rogue
    Jan 16, 2009 @ 09:51:54

    Let me see , One Million Dollars worth of charity. The first would have to be 1/2 to the Shriners Burns Unit . Whom without their help , my son would have died . And 1/4 to Missing & Exploited Childrens Fund . Also to help other family members find their hearts & get them home where they belong.Like my daughter was brought home to us. And the last 1/4 I would give to a shelter here that helps abused women get out & get on their feet . In memory of my Mother .

  9. Amy McGrady
    Jan 16, 2009 @ 09:56:49

    These are all great answers. 🙂 Thanks for taking the time to respond!

  10. Mel
    Jan 16, 2009 @ 17:17:08

    I would give $300,000.00 to the Burns Unit at Westmead Sydney Childrens Hospital. Without them, Jamie may not be here today. I would also donate $300,000.00 to my childrens god father who is a manager very high up with St Vincent De Paul society for him to decide where the money is best needed.
    I would give then give the extra $400,000.00 to rent out what ever cruise would accept to take a group of Sole Parent families out on a cruise for a well deserved break for all deserved.

  11. Mel
    Jan 16, 2009 @ 17:17:48

    oops that came out wrong that last bit.. I knew what i meant though lol

  12. Laura (Frenchie)
    Jan 16, 2009 @ 19:37:34

    Awesome donation ideas ladies!

    The skateboard park would cost 250,000.

    The next donation would be 500,000 to the childrens hospital in the capital of Nova Scotil. It’s over 2 hours away from here and is one of the best hospitals for sick kids. My niece (Jeff’s sister’s dd) spent a couple weeks there as a young child and she wouldn’t be here today if it wasn’t for the amazing care/treatment she recieved.

    The last 250,000 would go to homeless shelters. They need all the help they can get.

  13. Laura (Frenchie)
    Jan 16, 2009 @ 19:38:34

    That would be Nova Scotia, not Nova Scoti’l’. Typo problems. LOL!

  14. Sugie
    Jan 16, 2009 @ 22:22:50

    No family but you didn’t say we couldn’t help friends so I’d divide the money up and help all my nutty friends who are losing their jobs, their homes and just plain struggling in this awful economy. Our group is small enough that would be more than enough to help each and every nut. I can’t even begin to imagine how wonderful that would feel to be able to do that.

  15. Dusty
    Jan 16, 2009 @ 23:35:54

    Wow, you guys have some terrific ideas, and since Sug has the Nuts covered, I would use the money to help make one of mine and a couple of other’s people’s dreams come true, which in turn would help our county. We’re the 2nd poorest county in a very poor state. Our judge has dreams of a youth club and my friend and cousin by marriage – Ms. Tracy, has dreamed of opening a group home that offers equestrian therapy. I’d buy a large farm right smack dab in the middle of the county and the main house would be the office and be set up as a structured foster home. I’d build a second house, more institutional like, for Tracy’s group home, and of course she’d have the barn for her hourses. I’d add a large recreational building, complete with a full gym – basket ball courts and stage, swimming pool. computer lab, library, game room, movie theater, and class rooms for home making, craft, art, and regular classes. Bus service would be avaiable at all 5 school districts in the county every afternoon and run every evening at 6 and 9. The kids in the group home and the structured foster care home would all have chores and be enrolled in classes and activities at the ‘Club!’ There would be tons of animals, horses and beef cattle, chickens and dogs and cats and rabbits.
    I’d of course run the foster care home, and Shellie would be my assistant. Donnie would be the head of the grounds and maintanance department and Jimmy would be his right hand man. Nikki and Mandy could teach craft and cooking classes and Chad could be coach of all the sporting activities. Lol! How’s that for a dream?

  16. Amy McGrady
    Jan 17, 2009 @ 01:13:00

    Wow Dusty, you’ve got it all planned out!! That’s great!

Leave a Reply

