But not a real green dress, thats cruel

Following with yesterday’s theme and challenge, If I Had A Million Dollars.  None of the funds may be spent for personal gain, to help your family or children, or to even pay off a bill.  Every dime must be spent, but not all in one place.  I’ve received some great responses.  Now for MY answer.

As much as I would like to say “I would donate the money to breast cancer research, Locks of Love, and some program for needy families,”  I’m not passionate about those things.  I CARE about them, but not passionate.  So what am I passionate about?  Animals and children. 

I would LOVE to build and open a shelter and rescue for animals.  There would be no euthanization at my facility (unless the animal was too sick or injured to cure and was suffering.)  EVERY animal would have a chance.  I would provide medical care and love for all unwanted animals.  Not just dogs and cats either.  All of ’em.  The ones I couldn’t care for or adopt out here at my facility would be sent to specialized rescues to receive the care they deserve.  I don’t believe there is a thing as a “bad dog”, they just need redirection.  Aggressive towards other dogs?  Then they would not be adopted to families that had other animals or intentions of getting more pets. I can just see my top-of-the-line facility in my head, filled with doggies and kitties, and birds, and horses… all waiting to be petted, loved, and taken to their forever home.

The rest of the money would be used to establish a local shelter for abused women and children.  A safe haven for them where the abuser would not be able to hurt them again.  Counseling would be provided to the women and the children in hopes of stopping the vicious cycle.  Women would learn that they really are worth loving and that they do make a difference.  Children would be taught that it is not their fault.  They are worthy of healthy love and affection.    Women would be provided the resources to build self-esteem and self-worth and be independant.  God heals the physical bruises, we would help heal the emotional ones.

That’s it in a nutshell.

Leave a Reply

