My least favorite chore

My fiance and I share most of the “chores” around the house.  With the exception of the litter box, that one’s all mine.  In return for that unpleasant task, I only ask that he take out the trash.  Which fueled a nasty little tiff the other day.  Anyhoo… I don’t mind doing dishes, doing the floors, scrubbing the bathroom, cooking, etc.  The one chore I absolutely HATE to do and will put off as long as possible:  folding and putting away laundry.  Seems silly doesn’t it?  I don’t know why, but I’ve always hated doing the laundry.  The easy part gets done, washing and drying.  Heck, the machines do all the work there.  And then I pile all the clean clothes up.  In baskets.  On the bed. On top of the dresser.  I just HATE folding it and putting it away.  Is it some deep-rooted, sub-conscience-type thing?  Maybe I need a shrink to tell me the “hidden meaning” behind it.  So how does the laundry make me feel?  Like running away lol.  I would rather do anything at all than put away the clean clothes.  I don’t get it.  Typing it out makes me sound even more nuts doesn’t it?  I would rather clean the whooooole house and cut the entire yard with a pair of scissors than put away the laundry!  I kid you not.  As much as this bothers Bob, bless his heart, he doesn’t nag me about it.  He just digs through the piles for something to wear (as do my daughter and I) and moves said piles when they are in the way.  I’ve tried tricking myself.  I’ll pile the clothes on the bed and think that I HAVE to put them away to go to bed, right?  Nope.  I move the pile.  Or in some desperate times, just shove the pile over on the bed enough to make a little space to sleep.  *shakes head at self*  I know…. its sad.

Ohhhh an afterthought (and reason for the edit):  Why not make disposable clothes?  No need to wash.  Ever.  These clothes would be like scrubs.  But you wear them once and toss them.  They could come in several different colors and patterns.  No need for expensive brand names again.  We could eliminate the plastic bottles of laundry detergent and softener clogging up our landfills.  No more dry-cleaning.  No more folding and putting away.  EVER!!  Hey, I can dream.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Where the hell is that cleaning fairy??? « A Day In The Life Of…

Leave a Reply

