Life’s like that

Just when I think I’ve got life by the horns and I’m wrestling her into submission, WHAM, I’m smacked right upside the head with a curve ball.  Or maybe it isn’t life smacking me, it’s my subconsious common sense.  Almost as if my “smart” self smacks my “dumbass” self with a 2×4 Of Reason as if to say “WTF are you doing, man??”  I recently had one of those moments.  At least those kinds of moments make you stop and reflect, even for just a moment.  Its at those times that you really should take action and change what needs changing.  Oh Lord, I sound like The Pres now with all this change talk!  Ok… on to the lighter stuff….

Maybe it’s Murphy’s Law and not God, or my smart-self smacking my dumbass-self, at all.  Murphy’s Law states that anything that can go wrong, will go wrong.  Ok, that should be the title to the book about my life.  No seriously.  My mom has always called it “Jones Luck” (her family name) when anything goes wrong.    I’ve always said that God has a sense of humor and He really enjoys giggling at me.  Ok, alot of people enjoy giggling at my expense.  I don’t mind really.  I laugh right along with them most of the time.

For example:  Last Friday I had to go to the office for a bit.  I had also planned to go to Sam’s Club with my friend, Sid.  I didn’t have a babysitter, so I took 6 month old Leila with me.  The ladies at the office were more than happy to entertain the little darling while I was in a meeting.  I got her settled at the front desk and headed back to the conference room.  As I stepped in, I looked down at my feet.  Lo and behold, in my rush to get out of the house, I had slipped into two different shoes.  I burst out laughing at myself.  I walked up to Sid and pointed at my feet.   I said, “What’s wrong with this picture?” and we both disolved into giggles.  In my defense, I had bought two pairs of shoes a couple years ago.  They were identical in style, but one pair was black, the other was brown.  In my haste, I hadn’t noticed that I was wearing one brown shoe and one black shoe.  I composed myself and made it through our meeting.  I proudly walked around Sam’s Club and ate lunch at Red Lobster wearing my Punky Brewster look.  I’m now more careful about dressing myself in the mornings.  *sigh*  So what was God, or my “self” trying to tell me?  LIGHTEN UP and SLOW DOWN.  Dontcha think?

And totally off-subject but still under the “Life” heading:

Why is it that just as you submerge your achy muscles in a nice hot steamy bath the phone rings?  Its as if God, or whatever higher power you believe in, clears his throat at one of your friends (or the dreaded telemarketers) and says “Didn’t you mean to call Amy about [insert inane subject here] today? Wouldn’t now be a good time?”  Only to be outdone by the children who believe that Mommy might get lonely in the bathroom.  They will bang on the door, whine, cry, try to peek under the door, and sometimes even talk to you through the door to keep you company.  Ever gotten the little fingers under the door?  As if the little urchins can somehow magically force the door open with a little finger-wave.  Bless their little hearts. 

I wish Ol’ Murph would give me a break for a while.  But then my life would be boring and I wouldn’t have anything to complain (or giggle) about.  Right?  And my friend April surely would die of boredom as I’m her main source of entertainment…

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. K. Trainor
    Mar 10, 2009 @ 19:21:03

    Love the shoe thing. I think we’ve all done something similar. I know ‘Duh’ moments run rampant around here! 😀

  2. April
    Apr 02, 2009 @ 00:27:32

    Dont go boring on me. I need you just the way you are.We really need to get together and publish a book.

Leave a Reply

