Jillian Michaels kicked my ass and I started a quilt

Yesterday I decided to finally buy a bathroom scale.  I walked past some workout videos and Jillian Michaels’ “30 Day Shred” jumped out at me.  It was only $9.99 and promises to make you lose up to 20 lbs in a month.  Ok, I’ll try it.  So this morning I step on the scale and whatdya know, I am about 11 pounds lighter than I was about 4 months ago already.  Sweet!  Now I only need to lose 40 lbs.  I popped the video in and got ready to sweat!  This video has 3 different workouts on it.  Easy, intermediate, and hard.  I guess.  I’m starting on the EASY mode.  20 minutes.  Thats it.  I made it about 15 minutes.  I was sweating, panting, and felt like I was about to vomit.  I figure that’s my body’s way of telling me to STOP while I could still stand.  I let my heart rate lower a few points then just did some yoga stretches to cool down.  My knees and arms felt like Jello and my heart was pounding.  I’m proud of how much I did get done.  Tomorrow I’ll do it again.  And the day after that.  I don’t expect to lose 20 lbs this first month.  But I will feel better knowing I’m getting in shape and getting myself healthy.  As for Jillian, I appreciate her words of encouragement on the video.  But I’m sure after a while she’s going to get on my nerves.  She really doled out an ass whooping for me today.  Hopefully it will get easier as I go.  I just can’t imagine what the “hard” mode is like!

On another note, I started a baby quilt for my cousin. She’s due any day now (may be induced on Monday) and I have really dropped the ball on getting her quilt done.  I bought some gorgeous Civil War Era reproduction fabrics a couple weeks ago in browns and pinks.  She informed me that the baby’s room is in browns and pinks.  Perfect!  I’m doing a modern looking block with repro fabrics and I really like the way it looks!  Pics soon!  I’m going to work on it every day and try to get it done quickly.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. John
    Feb 04, 2010 @ 09:22:01

    Amy

    Great start to your goal. Keep your eyes on where you’r goenna get to. NOT where you are or where you’ve been. Can’t do anything about that. Only where you’re gonna be. Make yourself proud!

Leave a Reply

