No…

There is one very small word in the English language that invokes  many emotions.  This word also translates the same in many other languages.  The word is “NO.”   Toddlers use this word to convey  most of their thoughts/wants/needs.  “Would you like some milk?”  NO!  “Would you like juice?”  NO!  “Are you thirsty?”  NO!  “So you don’t want your cup?” NO!  Then you start to put said cup away and the screaming begins NONONONONONONO!!!  So you have to guess that this toddler DOES in fact want her cup.  Just put something wet in it and hand it to her.  Does she say “thank you”?  No. lol  The emotions experienced by others by this tiny little word reach deep.  Here are some examples…

“Can I have some ketchup?” (hopeful)
NO
“why not?” (annoyed)
NO
“But… ketchup would go great with my fries” (disappointment)
NO
“UGH!  I’ll just get it myself” (exasperation)
NO
“Oh, you’ll get it for me?” (again with the hopefulness)
NO
“WTF!” (anger)

Do you see where I”m going with this?  It’s kinda fun actually… lets do some more.

“Do you love me?” (playful)
NO
(silence… shock…)
“Really?” (worry)
NO
“Oh, good, you scared me there” (relief)
NO
“Huh? You do love me, right?” (confusion)
NO
“You don’t love me?” (disappointment)
NO
“Why not?” (hurt)
NO
“that’s not an answer…” (more confusion)
NO
“So now you’re not talking to me?” (annoyed)
NO
“What did I do??” (confused, angry)
NO
“F-it… I give up” (angry, annoyed)

_______________________________________

“Does this dress make me look fat?”  (hopeful)
NO
“You’re just saying that” (happy, but skeptical)
NO
“So it doesn’t make my butt look big?” (happy)
NO
“Does it make my butt look flat?” (curious)
NO
“Does it make my butt look small?” (incredulous)
NO
“Can you say anything other than no?” (annoyed)
NO

_________________________________________

“Cool!  Did you see that?” (excited)
NO
“Awww you missed it?” (disappointed)
NO
“That’s great” (relief)
NO
“You didn’t think that was great?” (disappointment)
NO
“But that was awesome” (argumentative)
NO
“Well you just suck”  (angry)
NO
“Yes, you do” (belligerent)
NO
“UGH!!!!” (exasperation)

______________________________________

“Was it good for you?” (blissful)
NO
“Huh?” (confused)
NO
(more of that awkward silence)
“well was it at least OK?” (hopeful)
NO
“I hate you” (hurt)
NO
“OK, you’re right, I don’t” (playful)
NO
“Wtf” (more confusion)

Ok, I could go on for days with this.  It’s fun.  I think I’ll try having a “NO only” conversation sometime today.  hehehee.  I may even try to come up with more colorful ways to say NO.  Hmmmm…. I’ll update later….

Off to have some fun.

Ok I had to come back to edit.  I really did have a reason for starting this post.  I just got sidetracked.  I was going to say something witty about my inability to say “NO” at some appropriate times.  Which leads to me being unhappy and feeling used or taken advantage of.  But I had so much fun with the above post that I just forgot all about it.  Oh well… I’ll save that for another day lol.

Leave a Reply

