Quilty Randomness…

Hurricane Leila believes all quilts belong to her.  This is partly my fault.  While pregnant with her, I made 4 baby quilts.  My child is never without a quilt at hand.

Baby Quilt #1

Baby Quilt #2

Baby Quilt #3

Baby Quilt #4

When we go to my mother’s house, she runs into the bedroom and pulls the quilt off my mom’s bed and brings it into the living room to lay on.  She will not sleep without one of her quilts.  Will. Not.

I carried Hurricane with me to a quilt shop recently.  There were beautiful quilts hung on every wall.  Hurricane pointed at them and said “bankit” and then started making her grunting noise that means “give it to me!”  When I said “No, you can’t have those” she started yelling “mine!!!”  The lady in the shop got quite a chuckle out of that.

I found some very cute red fabric with black dots on it in my stash that I had bought a couple years ago.  When I was pregnant with Hurricane, I decided I loved Ladybugs and I wanted to decorate her room in them.  I never did do that.  For her first birthday, the theme was Ladybugs.  I made cupcakes that looked like ladybugs. I even made this cute little dress for her.

Cupcakes

Leila's Ladybug dress for her 1st Bday party

Since then, she has decided that she does NOT like bugs.  Of any kind.  She yells “Beeeeeeeee!!!!” and “Eeeeewwww!” when she sees any kind of insect.  However, stubborn me, I still want to do something with Ladybugs.  Soooo I washed the red fabric.

Washing fabric

It bled and bled and bled.  The photo above was taken after the second washing.  I’m going to have to figure out how to keep it from bleeding once I make it into a quilt.  I love love love red/white quilts.  Hate hate hate the bleeding.  I never had that problem with Baby Quilt #1.  Not sure what I did differently.

Anyhoo… I guess the quilting bug has bitten me again because I’m sure in the mood for it.  After going MONTHS without touching my machine. 🙂

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kiotta
    May 12, 2010 @ 14:29:40

    How could be our lives without quilts? However, yours are fantastic! And I’m sure you will win your struggle with ladybug fabric 😉

    Hugs by Kiotta

  2. John
    May 13, 2010 @ 20:03:08

    The quilts really are fantastic. I am glad you have found an outlet for your creative energy.

  3. Stephanie Carr
    May 24, 2010 @ 20:44:59

    Amy-
    I never realized how talented you were. The quilts are beautiful. I’m thinking I may need you to make me one. 😉

Leave a Reply

