“Blues” is finished

Finished!

One good thing about me having a pretty ugly case of the “blues” is that I get things done.  My house got cleaned, laundry done (until the washer broke), and a quilt finished.  Feels good to get another big quilt done.  Great sense of accomplishment.

Front

I did a  simple “off kilter” grid quilting on this one.  My machine really isn’t made to do anything but straight lines anyway.  I figured since everything on the quilt top is perfectly squared and in proportion, I would do the quilting a little wonky.  I really like the way it came out.  I made the lines a little squiggly in places, definitely not in any pattern, and none of them are perfectly spaced.  Except on the borders, I couldn’t help myself there lol.

Back

I didn’t have enough fabric for the back (no boring white here!) so I added a strip of fabric to lengthen it. I’ve had this tie-died batik laying around for a few years and decided to use it.

Label

I blurred out the last name on the label to protect my friend’s identity.  I like to hand write my labels using a Pigma pen.  It’s forever permanent and, in my opinion, more personal.  I made the label as a reflection of the blocks on the front, using two of the main fabrics.  I’m pleased with the way it turned out.  I promise it’s actually square, the wonky quilting pulls the eye and makes the label look “off.”

So there it is, DONE.  I hope they get many years of enjoyment from this quilt.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. John
    Jun 08, 2010 @ 23:45:49

    I think you did an exceptional job on the blue quilt. I think your friends will be very happy with it.

  2. Trackback: Batting and Quilting Questions « A Day In The Life Of…

Leave a Reply

