Sweet (and EASY!) little dress

So I’ve been seeing these SWEET little girl’s “pillowcase” dresses for sale.  They are between $35-$45 each.  I took one look at it and said “I can make that!”  I’m Ms. Cheapo and refuse to pay good money for something I can make myself for cheap.  I realize now I bought enough fabric for 2 dresses (I would always rather have too much than not enough!) and I have less than $10 invested.  Soooo easy!  Now I’m gonna have to make more of these.  I didn’t do a tutorial because I just “winged” it and threw it together.  I wasn’t sure how it would turn out.  It turned out GREAT!  I will get Hurricane to model it for you when she gets up from her nap.  For now, here is a photo of the finished dress.  I am just SO excited about it!

So sweeeet!

I played around with the stitches on my machine for the first time and used a cute little decorative stitch around the seam at the bottom.

Decorative stitching

Oooooh the ideas I have running through my head!  I can do so many decorative things to these dresses to make them unique.  Buttons, bows, ribbons, stitching….

This only took two pieces of fabric.  (1) 16 inches x width of fabric, (2) 4.5 inches x width of fabric.  I have a closet FULL of fabrics that I can play with!!  Ooooh.

See yall later!! =)

Edit:  Here is Hurricane Leila modelling her new dress (she loves it!)

Hurricane loves her new dress

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. John
    Jun 08, 2010 @ 23:43:13

    That is really adorable.
    Have you considered trying to sell one or more of your creations on eBay or CL or one of the other flea market type sites? If they sell retail for $35 to $45 and you can make for less than $10. Seems like there is room for prfit and for penny-wise moms to still get a good deal.

  2. kiotta
    Jun 09, 2010 @ 02:58:24

    That’s gorgeous! I’m going to try to make some dresses for my daughter too, I wanted to recycle my husband’s shirts’ fabric… I think that’s even more cheaper!!!

    hugs by Kiotta

  3. Trail's Crafts
    Jun 09, 2010 @ 08:21:00

    Adorable dress.

Leave a Reply

