My first Mug Rug

I’ve been drooling over “Mug Rugs” over on Flikr for a while now.  These are basically over-sized, quilted, glorified coasters. Or miniature place mats.  And I love them.  I couldn’t stand it, I had to make one.  Since today is my and Mr. Wonderful’s first (dating) anniversary, I thought this would make a nice homemade, heartfelt gift for him.  I realllllly wanted to free-motion quilt this, but I was worried I would mess it up.  Maybe on the next one…

The front is a simple string block using scraps from my stash.

Mug Rug Front

Front

And the back is just a blue scrap and a white scrap done in reverse appliqué (another first for me.)

Back

I quilted it using my quilting foot and using the width of the foot itself for spacing.  Nothing special.  In hindsight, I should have used a darker color thread for the quilting.  It stands out a bit too much and takes away from the top, I think.  I fought with closing the binding quite a bit.  These small projects are a PIA.   It finished out at almost 9×7.  I say almost, because NOTHING I make ever comes out the right size.  It’s more like 8.75×7.25 inches.  So wierd.  But hey, not bad for a first attempt, huh?  I’m learning as I go.  I’ll do a better job on the next one, I’m sure.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Robin (rsislandcrafts)
    Nov 06, 2010 @ 11:52:12

    I think you did a great job on your first mug rug. I joined a swap and now I get to make my first mug rug.

    I think the heart quilting looks great. It reminds me of ripples in a pond after you toss in a stone.

    I’ve been wanting to try reverse applique. Maybe I will give it a shot on my first rug.

  2. Amy McGrady
    Nov 06, 2010 @ 13:43:48

    The reverse appliqué wasn’t difficult, but it’s not my favorite look because it leaves “rough edges.” But I knew I wouldn’t be able to appliqué the white heart over the darker fabric without it showing through. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

