Adventures with a toddler

First, it was colder than a well digger’s butt in this house this morning. I didn’t run the heaters last night because it was so warm still when we went to bed. Got up and stirring and felt much better but it sure was hard to get out of my snuggly warm bed! A friend of mine, who I haven’t seen in about a year and a half, texted me and asked me to meet him for lunch. I figured since I’ll be seeing other adults, I would actually put some makeup on and fix my hair lol. Hurricane remarked, “Mommy gettin’ dressed up!” lol.  Maybe I should wear makeup more often, huh?  Hurricane and I headed out and had a nice lunch with my friend and a coworker he had with him. She even behaved and didn’t throw any fits in the restaurant.  Which was nice, for once.   Then she and I went over to the library. Hurricane has never been to the library. There is a reason for that. We got in there and I picked out two books I wanted. Hurricane dutifully tagged along behind me jabbering the whole time. I paid my fines from a late book I had a while back, and asked the librarian about making copies. I have 7 diagrams to memorize by Monday morning for my Anatomy mid-term. There will be no “word bank” to pull from and if it’s misspelled, it’s wrong. So I realllllly need to study. Anyway, I asked to borrow some “white out” while I was at it. Hurricane was enjoying the tiled floor at this point and not making any noise. The tiles alternate colors and she was jumping between them. I made my first set of copies and then took it all over to a table to sit down and white out the parts I need to learn. Hurricane was not happy about this. She ran around a bit and into a nice room called the “adult reading room”. I was keeping an eye on her and shushing her when she got a little loud. One of the librarians came over to me and asked me to please keep her out of there. I said “ok” but really didn’t see the problem. There wasn’t anyone in there for her to disturb and she wasn’t climbing on anything, but whatever. So I sat her at the table with me and she proceeded to pitch a fit. I mean a REAL fit. She promptly slid off the chair, lying face down in the floor kicking and screaming. There was a man at the table in front of me and he was glaring at me. I just whispered “I’m sorry” and was steadily trying to calm Leila down. I finished whiting out the papers and headed back over to the copier with my tearful and snotty toddler in tow. She ran around the tiled area some more, quickly bored of that, then headed for the stairs. She was about half-way up when another librarian came over to me and asked me to please not let her play on the stairs. UGH! I wanted to yell, “I’m trying to get copies done so I can get the hell out of there!” but I simply ran over and talked Hurricane down.  Then I went back and finished up my copies and paid for them. I ended up with only 2 copies of each diagram, but I figure I can write lightly in pencil and erase them. I didn’t want any more scolding from the librarians.  Shortly after getting in the car, Hurricane fell asleep. Whew.  That’s enough fun for me for one day!  I think I’ll go fold the dreaded laundry now.

Hurricane

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shark
    Nov 12, 2010 @ 16:04:51

    Ack! The nose! THE NOSE!!!!
    They’re quite a handful at that age. May The Force be with you. 🙂

  2. Amy McGrady
    Nov 12, 2010 @ 19:50:19

    LMAO sorry Shark, she’s pretty much snotty all the time…

Leave a Reply

