Fabric, Elastic, and Seeds, Oh My!

Once upon a time, I had an eye pillow that was full of something squishy and smelled very nice.  It helped ease me through many a migraine and stress headache.  However, after moving quite a few times of the past few years, I chalked it up to being lost.  I couldn’t find it anywhere.  I decided to make my own.  I had no idea what was inside it, other than lavender.  I was talking to my mom about it, and at the time I had purchased the eye pillow, I had also gotten a neck wrap for her, made of the same stuff.  She looked on the tag and it simply said “flax seeds and lavender.”  Seems easy enough.  I set out to buy some flax, lavender, and elastic.  Lord knows I have enough fabric on hand.  I found the things I needed, came home, and set right to work.  I couldn’t find a template online, and I didn’t have my old one to go by, so I tinkered with a design until I came up with one I like.  And here it is.

Stress Relieving Eye Pillow

It was so quick and easy, that I couldn’t just stop at one!

Stack of eye pillows

One package of the flax seeds gave me enough for 3 pillows.  Luckily, I had bought two.  I also have plenty of lavender left over.  I will be making a few more of these as gifts. I am really happy with the way they came out.  I was able to get 5 pillows from one Fat Quarter (18×22 in), one scrap piece of fabric, and with one package of 3/8 in elastic.  I’m really excited about these.

Later, I was digging through an old box that’s been in the top of my shelf since I moved here over a year ago, and guess what I found?  Yep, the old eye pillow.  It doesn’t smell nice anymore, and I like the shape of MINE better.  So I’m going to just stick it in a drawer and make myself a new one.

Mmmmm this smells nice!! (flax and lavender)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mrscummingsrx
    Nov 19, 2010 @ 21:09:37

    these are great! what a neat gift idea.

  2. muscle supplements
    Dec 17, 2010 @ 22:20:07

    I spent couple of minutes at your blog and i’m very impressed, very good quality content
    Regards

Leave a Reply

