A Little Me time

The stress of just being me has finally caught up with me.  I’m in desperate need of some “me time.”  In an attempt to escape my children for a little while and regain some sanity, I retreated to the back porch.  I called my best friend and vented my frustrations for a little while.  After I got off the phone with her, I actually took a few minutes to enjoy the peace and quiet.  As much as I hate living in the middle of nowhere, being in the country does have it’s redeeming qualities.

I was sitting on the padded bench on my back porch.  I could hear thunder in the distance.  There was a nice cool breeze and the smell of freshly mown grass in the air. I closed my eyes to enjoy the moment.  It started to sprinkle and I just had to smile.  I sat there, face upturned, getting damp, waiting for a downpour.  I thought to myself, it’s been years since I played in the rain.  Why not?  But, alas, no rain.  The sprinkles stopped after only a few minutes.  The smell of rain hung in the air and the cicadas resumed their monotonous melody.  I looked up to the sky and could see a break in the clouds just overhead.  The stars twinkled happily as the sky to my left was lit periodically by lightening.  I sat there for a few more minutes enjoying the cool breeze, the sounds of cicadas, and thunder..  Those few minutes to myself did wonders for my mood.

But I still need a break.  I think taking a few minutes out for myself each day would make a difference, but it’s not enough.  I just keep reminding myself that life will be much better in about a year.  After I’ve graduated from college.  I think.  I hope…

Leave a Reply

