It’s not about YOU

Some people don’t like me. Some people are rude, ignore me to my face, and say things behind my back that are untrue.  Ya know what? I really don’t care.  I have a plan and I’m following it.  I am driven.  I am determined.  I do not intentionally try to make anyone else look bad or feel bad about themselves.  If someone is offended in my presence, it’s most likely because they are having to take a long hard look at themselves.  I work HARD to achieve my goals.  I study hard to be a 4.0 GPA student.  If I don’t understand something, I don’t mind asking questions.  To some, I may look “stupid” for asking those questions.  In my mind, even if I embarrass myself a little, I’m learning.  I will not forget what I’m being told at that moment.  In my mind, if I don’t know the answer, then likely, someone else doesn’t either.  Even if they were too embarrassed to ask, or admit that they do not know, they are learning as well, at my expense.  I am inquisitive by nature.  I ask questions.  I do not mean to offend anyone, I just want clarity.  I am a straight-forward person.  I speak my mind.  Since when is it wrong in our society to speak up about something or ask questions?  When it offends others.  Well wake up people!  The world does NOT revolve around YOU.  Stop being so damned over-sensitive.  If I’m wrong, I’m the first person to admit it and appologize when needed.  I am not perfect.  I am not always right.  I am not the smartest person in the room.  I don’t know everything.  But I want to.  My thirst for knowledge and understanding may never be quenched.  Until that time, I will continue to push ahead, I will continue to ask questions, I will continue to study, and I will continue to work as hard as I can to be the best that I can.

To the people trying to stand in my way:  This isn’t about YOU.  This is about ME.  I will smile and love you the way God has taught us to love one another.  But do not misunderstand my friendliness and love for weakness.  I want everyone around me to succeed.  I am not competing with anyone at this stage in my life.  I simply want to continue on my path at break-neck speed.  Either come along with me or get the hell out of my way.  If you have nothing better to do than gossip about me and spread the lies that are being told, then you really need to get a hobby.  If you truly knew me you would not repeat what has been said because you would know these things are untrue.  Don’t think you’re hurting me, because you are not.  I am moving on to bigger and better things and this little bump in the road is just one more obstacle for me to be thankful for.  Why thankful? Because it’s just one more thing reminding me how strong I am.  I always dust myself off and keep going.  This time isn’t any different.  When one door closes, another one opens.  Right now, I’m facing a whole hallway of open doors.  And I’m smiling.  This is MY world, you just live in it. =)

Leave a Reply

