What? Me? Procrastinate? Never! Ok maybe a little…

So I started this quilt for my neice, like, a year ago.  Before she was born.  Her first birthday party is Saturday so I figured I better (finally) get it done.  It’s been sitting on my sewing table, neatly folded, waiting for binding this whole time.  Seriously.  I’m ashamed of my procrastination sometimes.  So here it is.  Pink, brown, and cream, and oh so cute!  I really like how this turned out and it was pretty quick to do.  You know, if I had done it all at one time like a normal person would.  The colors aren’t showing well in this pic.  The pink doesn’t blend that well with the cream background.  Well, to me it doesn’t.  Anyhoo… here it is.  Late is better than never, right?

A few months ago I started cutting fabric to make my own quilt but I got sidetracked with school, work, kids, etc., and haven’t been back to it.  I had to move the pile of fabrics to get to my sewing space today and it made me think that I really need to pick it back up.  I have more time this quarter, kinda, so maybe I can get in the mood to do it.  I’m really sick of my old comforter.  And frankly, I’m embarrassed that I don’t have a quilt on my bed.  I even looked at coverlets and quilts in stores to find something to do until I finished mine.  How shameful!  I couldn’t find anything I liked, at all.  That just further enforced my will to finish my quilt.  I just gotta start on it first.  Maybe tomorrow… lol.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rachel
    Jul 11, 2012 @ 21:48:46

    The quilt looks beautiful. And it is a wonderful first birthday gift. Question: How much would you charge me to make me a quilt for a full size bed? Jeremy has the one you made us

  2. Amy McGrady
    Jul 17, 2012 @ 11:40:02

    Rachel, I only make quilts as gifts. My time (plus skill and materials) are valuable to me and nobody would want to pay what they are worth. You can get quilts that are made in China at any big retailer for next to nothing. Unfortunately, people aren’t willing to pay for American-made, good quality items anymore. I would have to charge around $300 for a bed-size quilt and that’s for a simple pattern. I would also have to factor in the cost of the materials… so it gets pricey. That’s why I don’t make my quilts to sell. Sorry.

Leave a Reply

