Twirly circle skirts for The Princess.

The Princess, aka Hurricane, refuses to wear pants or shorts of any kind. She insists on wearing only skirts and dresses. So to accomodate her girly style and save money, I’ve decided to try my hand at making her some clothes. I bought this pattern at Wal-Mart:

image

I’m not very savvy when it comes to patterns.  My brain just doesn’t seem to “get it”. The first attempt took me forever.  I learned that you can’t skip steps.  Or at least I can’t. I decided not to make the bias binding for the bottom and just hem it. It’s a circle skirt.  It looks terrible lol. But for my first attempt,  I don’t think it’s all that bad. 

image

I found this polka dot fabric and couldn’t wait to make something girly with it. I bought the plain t-shirt at Hobby Lobby and added the fabric flower.  Also a first for me.  I think it came out cute and The Princess loves it.

The second skirt went much easier and faster because this time I knew what I was doing.  I bought the shirt at Wal-Mart and decided to make the skirt to match.  I bought cheap broadcloth for this one. I also used a scrap piece of pink fabric and tulle to make the flower for the skirt (I simply call it a floofy). The Princess doesn’t like this one as much (“I want a blue flower on the skirt!”) But I think it’s adorable. I also hemmed this one but I pinned it like crazy first and it came out much better.

image

I foresee many more twirly skirts in our future.  Quick,  easy,  and fun :-). Not to mention CHEAP.  🙂

Leave a Reply

